ASIA/SAUDI ARABIA - 139 countries sign the "Mecca Declaration": no to Islamophobia

Tuesday, 4 June 2019 islam   dialogue   human rights   discrimination

Mecca (Agenzia Fides) - 139 Muslim-majority countries have ratified the new "Mecca declaration", adjuged in recent days under the direction of the Mufti of Saudi Arabia at the end of the XIV ordinary session of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), held in Mecca on Friday 31 May. The document, among other things, invites all signatory countries to make a common front against the spread of Islamophobia, deplores the interference of States in internal affairs in other nations mostly inhabited by Muslims. In the declaration they also distance themselves from the policies that use religion to foment conflicts, the necessary respect for cultural and religious differences is reaffirmed and inter-religious dialogue is also indicated among the instruments useful to counter Islamophobic speeches and behavior. The text, emphasizes, among other things, the importance of "being on the side of those Muslims who in non-Islamic countries suffer persecution, injustice, coercion and aggression", together with the urgency of "supporting them and taking charge of their cause in international forums, to protect their full exercise of political and social rights in their countries, and to develop programs and mechanisms that guarantee their full integration in their societies, far from any discrimination". (GV) (Agenzia Fides, 4/6/2019)