VATICAN - Consistory for 21 new Cardinals, among them 7 Ordinaries of jurisdictions entrusted to Propaganda Fide

Monday, 30 May 2022 cardinals   consistory   pope francis  


Vatican City (Agenzia Fides) - At the conclusion of the Regina Coeli on Sunday, May 29, Pope Francis announced that on Saturday, August 27, he will hold a Consistory for the creation of 21 new Cardinals: "On Monday and Tuesday ,August 29 and 30 a meeting of all the Cardinals will be held to reflect on the new Apostolic Constitution Praedicate Evangelium; and on Saturday 27 August I will hold a consistory for the creation of new Cardinals". Seven of the new Cardinals are Ordinaries of territories entrusted to the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples. In the order in which they were announced by the Pope, they are: Msgr. Peter Ebere Okpaleke, Bishop of Ekwulobia (Nigeria); Msgr. Filipe Neri António Sebastião do Rosário Ferrão, Archbishop of Goa and Damão (India); Msgr. Virgilio do Carmo da Silva, S.D.B., Archbishop of Díli (East Timor); Msgr. Anthony Poola, Archbishop of Hyderabad (India); Msgr. Richard Kuuia Baawobr, M. Afr., Bishop of Wa (Ghana); Msgr. William Seng Chye Goh, Archbishop of Singapore (Singapore); Msgr. Giorgio Marengo, I.M.C., Apostolic Prefect of Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia).
The other new Cardinals are: Msgr. Arthur Roche, Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments; Msgr. Lazzaro You Heung-sik, Prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy; Msgr. Fernando Vérgez Alzaga, L.C., President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Vatican City State’s Governorate; Msgr. Jean-Marc Aveline, Metropolitan Archbishop of Marseille (France); Msgr. Leonardo Ulrich Steiner, O.F.M., Metropolitan Archbishop of Manaus (Brazil); Msgr. Robert Walter McElroy, Bishop of San Diego (U.S.A); Msgr. Oscar Cantoni, Bishop of Como (Italy); Msgr. Paulo Cezar Costa, Metropolitan Archbishop of Brasília (Brazil); Msgr. Adalberto Martínez Flores, Metropolitan Archbishop of Asunción (Paraguay).
The members of the College of Cardinals will also be joined by Msgr. Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal, Archbishop Emeritus of Cartagena (Colombia); Msgr. Lucas Van Looy, S.D.B., Archbishop Emeritus of Gent (Belgium); Msgr. Arrigo Miglio, Archbishop Emeritus of Cagliari (Italy); Father Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.I., former Rector of the Pontifical Gregorian University; Msgr. Fortunato Frezza, Canon of St. Peter’s.
"Let us pray for the new Cardinals - concluded the Pope -, so that, by confirming their adherence to Christ, they will help me in my ministry as Bishop of Rome for the good of all the faithful Holy People of God". (SL) (Agenzia Fides, 30/5/2022)