AFRICA/BURKINA FASO - The Pope accepts resignation of Bishop of Diébougou and appoints Successor

Monday, 3 April 2006

Vatican City (Fides Service) - The Holy Father, Pope Benedict XVI, on 3 April 2006, accepted the renunciation of the pastoral government of the diocese of Diébougou (Burkina Faso), presented by Bishop Jean-Baptiste Somé, in conformity with the Code of Canon Law, canon 401 § 1. The Holy Father appointed Bishop of Diébougou (Burkina Faso) Reverend Mgr Der Raphaël Dabiré Kusiélé Episcopal Vicar for Diébougou diocesan socio-pastoral activity.
The Bishop elect was born on 27 April 1948 at Dissin in the diocese of Diébougou. He attended local schools and then went to the minor seminary in Bobo-Dioulasso. He studied philosophy at Ouagadougou major seminary and theology at Bobo-Dioulasso major seminary. He was ordained a priest on 12 July 1975 for the diocese of Diébougou. Later he studied for a licentiate in Sociology at the Pontifical Gregorian University in Rome while residing at S. Paolo Apostolo college and then a Masters in Public Management at Quebec University in Canada. Since his ordination he has been: 1975-1980: assistant priest; 1980-1986: head of diocesan development projects; 1986-1989: studies in Rome; 1989-1993: head of diocesan development projects; 1993-2000: secretary general John Paul II Sahel Foundation. 2001-2003: studies in Canada. Since 2003 Episcopal vicar for diocesan social and pastoral projects.
Diébougou diocese created in 1968 is a suffragan of the archdiocese of Bobo-Dioulasso. It has an area of 18,346 sq. km, a population of 752,412 including 109,834 Catholics, gathered in 18 parishes, assisted by 124 diocesan priests, 8 Brothers and 70 women Religious and there are 56 seminarians. (S.L.) (Agenzia Fides 3/4/2006; Righe 22; Parole 204)